Vagaro alternative for Pilates and yoga studios
BookYourMat vs Vagaro: an à la carte platform, or published pricing built for studios
Vagaro starts at $30/mo and you add what you need, across salons, spas and fitness. BookYourMat publishes its price by instructor count and is built only for class studios. On the monthly bill Vagaro usually comes out lower, so here’s what to weigh.
Every competitor claim below is sourced to vagaro.com (pricing, card processing, Pilates software and text marketing pages), fetched 2026-11-06.
3.5% + 19¢
Vagaro’s published US rate per keyed-in transaction. Dips and taps are lower, at 2.6% + 10¢ or 2.29% + 19¢. Its rates page doesn’t say which charges count as keyed-in, so ask Vagaro how your online and membership charges are rated.
Choose BYM if
You want one number and studio-shaped tools
You’d rather not assemble a plan from add-ons, your clients text and pay by Venmo or Zelle, and most of your revenue comes through packs, memberships and online booking rather than a card reader.
Choose Vagaro if
You want a low start and a marketplace
You want a much lower monthly bill, or to appear on the Vagaro Marketplace, which it says can get you found by over 24 million potential clients. It’s also the better fit if you mix classes with spa or salon services, or if most clients dip or tap a card at your front desk, where its rates are low.
Switching
No Vagaro importer, no separate fee
BookYourMat has no automated Vagaro import. Per /switch, you send whatever export Vagaro can produce, our team builds your studio by hand at no extra charge, and you get a 30-day self-serve corrections window.
Feature comparison
A factual comparison with Vagaro.
Most studio software assumes every payment runs through a card processor. BookYourMat is built around the off-platform payments small studios already receive.
| Feature | BookYourMat | Vagaro |
|---|---|---|
Published price | $149/mo (1 instructor), $179/mo (2 to 5), $249/mo (6 or more) | $30/mo ($23.99/mo for the first 6 months), plus $10 per added calendar, up to seven |
Pricing model | Full product on every plan | “À la carte”: each location pays for the features it adds |
Extra locations | +$79/mo per extra location after the first | Each location has its own cost by features; no added multi-location fee |
Keyed-in and online card charges | About 2.9% + 30¢ online and on saved cards; Stripe adds 0.5% when a card number is typed in by hand | 3.5% + 19¢ per keyed-in transaction; ask Vagaro which charges count |
In-person dip or tap | No card reader; BookYourMat takes cards online and on file | 2.6% + 10¢; 2.29% + 19¢ plus $10/mo above $4,000 a month; +6¢ per Tap to Pay |
Reminders | Included, no per-message cost | Unlimited notifications and appointment reminders on every plan |
Two-way client texting | Included | Lists text marketing and client messaging; cost and plan not stated on the pages reviewed 2026-11-06 |
Venmo/Zelle payment matching | Not found in Vagaro’s pricing or card processing pages, checked 2026-11-06 | |
Consumer marketplace | None; clients book from your own page | Free listing on the Vagaro Marketplace |
AI | Becky answers client booking texts, on every plan | Vera, for marketing, filling slots, descriptions and client messages |
Trial | No free trial: $50 off month one, with a 30-day money-back guarantee | 30-day free trial |
Published price
BYM
$149/mo (1 instructor), $179/mo (2 to 5), $249/mo (6 or more)
Vagaro
$30/mo ($23.99/mo for the first 6 months), plus $10 per added calendar, up to seven
Pricing model
BYM
Full product on every plan
Vagaro
“À la carte”: each location pays for the features it adds
Extra locations
BYM
+$79/mo per extra location after the first
Vagaro
Each location has its own cost by features; no added multi-location fee
Keyed-in and online card charges
BYM
About 2.9% + 30¢ online and on saved cards; Stripe adds 0.5% when a card number is typed in by hand
Vagaro
3.5% + 19¢ per keyed-in transaction; ask Vagaro which charges count
In-person dip or tap
BYM
No card reader; BookYourMat takes cards online and on file
Vagaro
2.6% + 10¢; 2.29% + 19¢ plus $10/mo above $4,000 a month; +6¢ per Tap to Pay
Reminders
BYM
Included, no per-message cost
Vagaro
Unlimited notifications and appointment reminders on every plan
Two-way client texting
BYM
Included
Vagaro
Lists text marketing and client messaging; cost and plan not stated on the pages reviewed 2026-11-06
Venmo/Zelle payment matching
BYM
Vagaro
Not found in Vagaro’s pricing or card processing pages, checked 2026-11-06
Consumer marketplace
BYM
None; clients book from your own page
Vagaro
Free listing on the Vagaro Marketplace
AI
BYM
Becky answers client booking texts, on every plan
Vagaro
Vera, for marketing, filling slots, descriptions and client messages
Trial
BYM
No free trial: $50 off month one, with a 30-day money-back guarantee
Vagaro
30-day free trial
Vagaro figures sourced from vagaro.com/pro/pricing, /pro/card-processing, /pro/pilates-software and /pro/text-marketing-software, fetched 2026-11-06. Pricing changes, so verify current numbers with Vagaro before deciding.
Honest tradeoffs
Where Vagaro is stronger
- A much lower starting price: $30/mo, with $23.99/mo for the first six months, plus $10 per added calendar.
- A 30-day free trial, and “cancel anytime with no cancellation fees” (Vagaro notes exclusions apply).
- A free listing on the Vagaro Marketplace, which BookYourMat has no equivalent of.
- Low in-person card rates: 2.6% + 10¢, or 2.29% + 19¢ plus $10/mo above $4,000 a month, per dip or tap, and a free card reader offer (Vagaro notes terms).
- Several locations with no added multi-location fee: each location costs what its own features cost.
- Vagaro says its team will migrate your requested data, typically in 1 to 2 business days.
- Rewards and loyalty programs, livestream and virtual classes, and tools for salons, spas and fitness in one account.
Where BookYourMat is more focused
- Built only for class studios. Vagaro serves salons, spas and fitness businesses too.
- A published price by instructor count with client texting included, so no menu of features to price up.
- Online and card-on-file charges at standard Stripe rates of about 2.9% + 30¢.
- Venmo and Zelle matching, a credit ledger for packs and duets, and Becky answering booking texts.
Practical questions before you switch
On the software bill, yes. A three-instructor studio pays about $50/mo on Vagaro, reading $30 as covering the first calendar with $10 for each added one, against $179/mo on BookYourMat. Card fees can change that gap. Take $12,000 a month in 100 charges of $120. If every charge were rated keyed-in at 3.5% + 19¢, that’s about $439 plus Vagaro’s $10 large-merchant fee, against about $378 at 2.9% + 30¢, and Vagaro is about $58 a month cheaper. If every charge were a dip or tap at 2.29% + 19¢, it’s about $304 with the fee, and Vagaro is about $203 a month cheaper. Those are our examples, before any features you add, so ask Vagaro how your charges would be rated.
Check it against your own statement.
Put your own plan, card mix and features in the calculator. If Vagaro still wins, it will say so.
Other comparisons
- BookYourMat vs Mindbody
- BookYourMat vs Momence
- BookYourMat vs Arketa
- BookYourMat vs Zipper
- BookYourMat vs Walla
- BookYourMat vs Glofox
- BookYourMat vs Acuity
- BookYourMat vs Square Appointments
- BookYourMat vs WellnessLiving
- BookYourMat vs Punchpass
- BookYourMat vs TeamUp
- BookYourMat vs Mariana Tek
- BookYourMat vs Calendly
- All comparisons →
Free tools for studio owners
- Studio pricing & intro offer calculator
Check your drop-in, class pack and membership prices against each other, and see what an intro offer is really worth with your own numbers.
- Class schedule & intro offer page maker
Turn your weekly class schedule and intro offer into a clean, mobile-friendly page you can link from Instagram, Google and texts.
- Booking software cost calculator
Add up your booking software, add-ons, card fees and admin time, and see the full monthly cost next to a flat price.
- All free tools →